Employment and Disability

Under the Workforce Investment Act of 1998, Regional Workforce Partners joined forces to create and operate a Regional Workforce Development System. The goal of this system is to provide high quality employment services to all individuals. This system is designed to be able to improve accessibility for job seekers with or without disabilities. Each IowaWORKS Center offers accommodations and assistive technology to increase or improve the functional capabilities of individuals with disabilities.

Iowa Workforce Partners

Iowa Workforce Development
Iowa Department for the Blind
Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services
Iowa Department of Human Services
Iowa Department of Human Rights/ Division of Persons with Disabilities
Iowa Department of Education
Iowa Developmental Disability Council
Iowa Department on Aging

Ticket to Work

Job seekers disclosing a disability have access to additional services and supports. All IowaWORKS Centers are Social Security Administration-approved Employment Networks under the Ticket to Work program. This is one of many work incentives for beneficiaries of Social Security Disability Insurance (SSDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI) available through the Social Security Administration.

Job seekers with a disability are invited to IowaWORKS Centers throughout Iowa and identify yourself as having Social Security benefits or a Ticket to Work when you come to the workforce center. Ticket to Work is one of many work incentives offered through Social Security.

For more information, please contact your local IowaWORKS Center:

Dubuque and Decorah Area
(Allamakee, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Howard and Winneshiek counties)

Mason City Area
(Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Mitchell, Winnebago and Worth counties)

Spencer Area
(Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, O’Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto and Sioux counties)

Fort Dodge/Webster City Area
(Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster and Wright counties)

Marshalltown Area
(Hardin, Marshall, Poweshiek and Tama counties)

Waterloo Area
(Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler and Grundy counties)

Carroll Area
(Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie and Sac counties)

Davenport Area
(Clinton, Jackson, Muscatine and Scott counties)

Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Areas
(Benton, Cedar, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn and Washington counties)

Des Moines Area
(Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, Marion, Polk, Story and Warren counties)

Sioux City Area
(Cherokee, Ida, Monona, Plymouth and Woodbury counties)

Council Bluffs Area
(Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Page, Pottawattamie and Shelby counties)

Creston Area
(Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Montgomery, Ringgold, Taylor and Union counties)

Ottumwa Area
(Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe, Van Buren, Wapello and Wayne counties)

Burlington and Fort Madison Areas
(Des Moines, Henry, Louisa and Lee counties)